| English | عربي

Arab Organization for Agricultural Development

المنظمة العربية للتنمية الزراعية  


About AOAD

The Establishment and Objectives

The Organizational Structure

Programs and Fields of work

Main Activities and Achievements



Arab Agricultural Statistics Yearbook

Arab Fishery Statistics Yearbook

Related Links

AOAD Library

The Sustainable Agricultural Development Strategy For Next Two Decades


Arab Agriculture Ministries
AOAD Regional Offices
Contact us

Home Page



The AOAD Participated

in the 41st Session of the FAO’s (GFCM)

The AOAD participated in the 41st Session of the FAO’s General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean, in Budva, Montenegro during the 16th till the 20th of October 2017.

The meeting discussed the drafted strategy of the General Commission for the Sustainable Development of Aquaculture in the Mediterranean and the technical reports of the Commission's subcommittees during 2016-2017, and the management of fisheries and fish stocks, as well as discussing the technical report of the sustainable development of fisheries in the Black Sea.

The AOAD presented a paper on its' role and areas of activities in the field of fisheries and aquaculture, focusing on the objectives of the Arab Program for Freshwater Aquaculture and the Arab Strategy for Aquaculture (2017-2037). AOAD's request for signing a memorandum of understanding with the FAO’s General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean was discussed and approved.

 The Arab participants (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Lebanon and Syria) agreed that the AOAD coordinates the unified Arab vision in areas related to fisheries globally and regionally.

The General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean (GFCM) was established under the agreement in Rome on the 24th of September 1949 and implemented on the 20th of February 1952. Its aims are to enhance and protect the marine resources in the Mediterranean and the Black Sea, and to undertake training, research and development activities in all aspects of fisheries, including the protection of marine resources. GFCM members include the European Union and the Mediterranean countries which are (25), including (7) Arab countries






Copyright - AOAD 2017 ©